My Baby You’ll Be

“I’ll love you forever,
I’ll like you for always,
as long as I’m living

my baby you’ll be.”

-Robert Munsch

My little man is growing up… and growing up fast.

I cannot believe that we are having an Angry Birds party this Saturday for Owey…

I cannot believe that my tiny little baby is turning three.

It feels like just yesterday that I saw his beautiful face for the first time.

That I heard his little lamb cry when the doctors took his measurements.

That I held him close to my chest and felt his heart beat.

That I kissed his forehead and told him that he was the most important thing in the world to me and that I would never leave him.

Now… three years later Owen is 35 pounds…

he is tall like his daddy…

he has an amazing vocabulary…

he loves to sing and dance…

he has the best sense of humor…

and… as of this week…

he is potty trained!

I have been trying for months to convince Owen that he should go potty on the big boy chair.

I gave him candy…

I sang him potty songs…

I had a special “potty party” where we watched movies and brought his potty chair out into the living room…

I told him that he could go to school and play with the kids once he started wearing big boy pants…

I TRIED EVERYTHING!

Then, out of no where Owen decided one day (March 8th) that he was going to take off his diaper… go into the bathroom… lift up both lids… and pee standing up.

For over a week now, Owen has worn big boy unds (unless he is sleeping or has too poop)… and he has only had 4 accidents.

Something that I never thought would happen.

But yet again Owen has shown me that when he is ready to do something… he will do it.

“It’s all on my time, Mom.”

While his birthday is bound to bring lots of fun and excitement…. I am sure that it will bring a few tears as well.

Tears that my little boy is turning three…

Tears knowing that I am lucky to have such an amazing boy…

Tears because we have made it through these past 2 years without his father and come out ok…

Tears in celebration of what is yet to come.

Tears knowing that my baby… he will always be!

Leave a comment